Islamic Knowledge, Islamic Teaching

Shahada (First Pillar Of Islam)


Islam has five mandatory obligations that every Muslim has to fulfill once during their lifetime. Shahadah is the first pillar of Islam and holds equal importance as the other 4 pillars.

Quran explains this pillar of Islam in the best way. Learn Quran online with the best resources in town.

What is Shahada?

Shahadah is the declaration and progression of the faith that distinguishes Muslims from the rest of the religions in the world. Shahada is to accept the oneness of God, and there is no God except Allah. He is the only one who is worthy of praise and worship.

“La ilaha illallah Muhammadur rasoolu Allah”

       Translation: There is no true god (deity) but Allah (SWT); Muhammad is the Messenger of Allah (SWT)

The shahadah is one of the first requirements of becoming a Muslim and accepting the lordship of God. Moreover, shahadah means to the believer and servant of Allah. Besides this, Shahadah is also referred to as “twin testimony of the faith” The meaning of this phrase is further divided into two parts.

      1. There is No God Except Allah

The first of the kalima states that there is no God except Allah that exists. He is the only one who is worthy of being worshipped. He is the sole founder of the world and all activities are done according to his plans. Associating partners with Allah is an act of shirk, and it is one of the biggest sins in Islam.

Anyone who recites Shahada with pure intention is a Muslim who testifies in Allah’s divine right. In a nutshell, this part about Allah is a chain of the belief that has been carried by an extensive line of prophets and messengers of Allah.

This statement is further supported by the Holy words:

“He is the Originator of the heavens and the earth. How can He have children when He has no wife? He created all things and He is the All-Knower of everything. Such is Allah, your Lord! Laa ilaaha illa Huwa (none has the right to be worshipped but He), the Creator of all things. So worship Him (Alone), and He is the Wakeel (Trustee, Disposer of affairs or Guardian) over all things” (Surah Anam:101-102)

     2. Muhammad(PBUH) is the Messenger Of God

The Holy Prophet was awarded the final revelation and he is the seal of Holy prophets. He is the last messenger of Allah and that’s what makes him superior to the other prophets. The prophet Muhammad (PBUH) has been a perfect role model for Muslims and we as Muslims are bound to follow his teachings, actions, and his Sunnah to achieve so,ething greater in the hereafter.

However, also keep in mind, merely reciting the words of Shahadah doesn’t make you a guaranteed Muslim. But there are some stages of becoming a Muslim and reciting these words is the first requirement of all.

Interesting Facts About Shahada:

  • When a baby is born in a Muslim family, the Shahada is delivered to the ears of a newborn. This means the baby is set to become a Muslim and has already done with the first step.
  • Shahada is recited during the Azan time by a Moazzan. 
  • Muslims recite Shahada once or twice during the prayer due to the obligation of reciting it five different times in a day.

In case you are searching for the best Quran tutors online, Quran Host is the leading and reputable platform to reach out to. if  you are interested to learn Learn Six kalmas Of Islam  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *