The word Halal means are permissible. Anything that is declared halal means that it is allowed by the religion and anything that is forbidden is declared haram. When it comes to halal and haram the laws are very strict and a Muslim is not allowed to cross the boundaries of what is described and advised. Muslims are allowed to eat what is “good” (Quran 2:168)—that is, food and drinks identified as pure and clean. In general, everything is allowed (halal) except what has been specifically forbidden. Everything that is classified as halal has its own health benefits and is wholesome, nourishing, and pleasing to the taste.
Table of Contents
In the Quran, the word halal is contrasted with haram (forbidden). To know what is halal for Muslims to eat and drink it is necessary to know what isn’t. Anything that falls under the category of Haram is forbidden and will be questioned in regard to the Day of Judgment.
The Quran says,
“He hath forbidden you only carrion, and blood, and swine flesh, and that which hath been immolated to (the name of) any other than Allah. But he who is driven by necessity, neither craving nor transgressing, it is no sin for him. Lo! Allah is Forgiving and Merciful.” (Quran, 2:173)
“And eat not of that whereon Allah’s name hath not been mentioned, for lo! It is an abomination. Lo! The devils do inspire their minions to dispute with you. But if ye obey them, ye will be in truth idolaters.” (Quran, 6:121)
Hadith of Holy Prophet (PBUH) states,
“Forbade the eating of the meat of beasts having fangs.” (Bukhari)
Correct Slaughtering of Animals
In Islam, much attention is given to the manner in which animals are slaughtered. Muslims slaughter their livestock by slitting the animal’s throat in a swift and merciful manner, reciting “In the name of God, God is Most Great” (Quran 6:118–121). The animal should not suffer in any way and the knife must be razor-sharp and free from any blood of a previous slaughter. All of the animal’s blood must be drained before consumption. Meat prepared in this manner is called Zabihah, or simply, halal meat.
However, these rules do not apply to fish or other aquatic meat sources, which are all regarded as halal.
Halal Foods and Drinks:
All vegetables are Halal and are allowed to be consumed. All animals and birds that are not listed in the Haram food list are Halal as food for the believers provided they fulfill the requirements of slaughter. The food and drink that is pure, clean, nourishing, and pleasing to the taste. We can eat all fish and seafood but not frogs nor crocodiles as crocodiles have fangs. Islam also allows Muslims to consume the food of the people who are Ahl-Al-Kitab (People of the Book).
“O ye who believe! Eat of the good things wherewith We have provided you and render thanks to Allah if it is (indeed) He whom ye worship” (2:172).
The basic know-how of Halal and Haram is essential to a Muslim. Muslims have certain boundaries that set their limits. They should never cross it no matter how tough the situation is. The proper Halal food is what you will get through the correct slaughtering of animals and the process which is specified in the teachings of Islam must be followed. The basic teachings of Islam should also be kept in mind following the process, so the real intention also matters here.
The aquatic food is Halal, but certain animals are not forbidden and there is a restriction over their consumption as food. There is also a restriction in Islam that only food of the followers of Holy Books is allowed to consume. The overall restrictions are there for the benefit of the Muslims as it helps them to have hygienic and full rich and nourishing food. If you will break the restrictions, the consequences could lead you to be non-Muslim.
More details about Halal (Something that is lawful and permitted in Islam.) and Haram (Something which is unlawful or prohibited in Islam) things according to Islamic teaching available at QuranHost, which is a great Online Quran Academy to get your children enrolled in. For details please SignUp.